Cosmetics · Tutorial

Summer Makeup | Tutorial.

Hi Guys,

I’ve been meaning to post this tutorial for donkeys, but for one reason or another, I’ve just never got round to it. I realised that we are now nearing the end of July (whaaat?!) and Autumn is just round the corner, so I need to get my finger out and get this look posted!

Photo 16-07-2017, 11 54 04

So, I think 90% of us can agree that wearing a full face of makeup on a humid, scorcher of a day is the worst thing in the world. I know that my face starts to feel horrible and claggy. I’ve usually sweated over half of it off by midday anyway. Because of this, I’ve been experimenting and came up with this minimal and easy look! As we all know, I am a full coverage kind of girl, so to go for something so stripped back is quite a shocking thing for me. But, I am digging this look at the minute and I am finding myself going for this look or very similar on a daily basis at the moment. So, without further ado, here is my go to summer time makeup look.

Oh, one more thing, please excuse the abysmal group photos. It’s been a really dull and miserable day here so trying to get good lighting has been like fighting a losing battle! Also, please excuse my roots, I promise they don’t look that bad in real life! P.p.s, how cute it’s my MTV burger top?! (it’s from PrimarkMAN. Sorry, not sorry!)

photo-19-07-2017-20-01-19.jpg

Okay, so first of all, I use The Body Shop Seaweed Oil-Control Gel Cream. This stuff is brilliant if, like me, you have oiler skin. I use this as a moisturiser but focus it more in my oiler areas, such as T-Zone. It really helps keep your makeup on as it reduces the amount of oil your skin produces.

I always prime my face, I use the Makeup Revolution Aqua Base, I won’t go into too much detail about this as I’ve already mentioned it so many times on my blog, but it did have a little feature on my June Favourites and Oh Hell Nah’s!.

Photo 16-07-2017, 11 57 40

Next, I use The Body Shop All-In-One BB Cream. This stuff is crazy. I’ve heard a lot of “colour adapting” shite when looking for makeup, and I’ve never found ones that actually work, until this one. When I was in store and I came across this stuff, I was massively dubious. I thought I’d give it a try and squeezed a bit on to the back of my hand. The product was white! I nearly walked out of the store right there and then! I was adamant that this BB Cream was shit and was never going to work. However, when I started to rub this into my skin, I was pleasantly surprised to see it really was changing colour and it really was the perfect match! I was sold, and I’m so happy I never let my judgement get the better of me because I’ve used this everyday and am just so in love with it! I apply this to my face using just my fingers. Naturally, the coverage is very sheer, so I apply a good amount to start with, then apply another but small layer to my forehead, nose and chin for the extra layer of coverage.

Next, I go in with my Tarte Shape Tape concealer on my forehead, nose, under eye, chin and over any blemishes for that extra coverage. I blend this out with my damp Real Techniques beauty blender.

After that, I go in with my Maybelline Matte Marker setting power and set my face so it doesn’t budge.

As I have just had my eyebrows waxed and tinted, I really don’t need to do much with them at the minute at all (hallelujah!) so I just nip over them with Benefit Gimme Brow in shade 5.

Photo 19-07-2017, 20 44 10

Next, I go in with my new Cargo Cosmetics Around The World Palette. I adore this palette, I came across it in T K Maxx and it’s been a wonderful find! I haven’t used much of the colours just yet, but the ones that I have used I love. The colours are so lovely! The coverage is on the sheer side, but they are super easy to build and blend out really well. I do a really simple eye look with this makeup as it is more light and natural looking. First, I use “Rome” all over the lid and up towards my brow bone as a base colour. Next, I use “Shanghai” in my outer corner and crease, just to give my eyes some depth. I finish off the eyes with some Maybelline Colossal mascara.

Going back to the face, I have been using the Makeup Revolution Pro HD palette to do my contour. Again, because this is a super light look, my contouring has been really natural and barely-there lately, so I have stuck to the 3rd and 4th shades on the top row, and I’ve been really digging it. I then use the Maybelline Fit Me! Blush to add a bit of colour to my ghostly complexion.

 

Photo 16-07-2017, 11 55 04

Next is highlighterrrr (my favourite!) Going back to the Cargo Cosmetics palette, I used “Amsterdam” to highlight above by brows, brow bone, inner corner, tip and bridge of nose, cupids bow and high cheek bones areas, basically anywhere that is acceptable to put highlighter because it’s beautiful and makes me feel like a shimmering Goddess. Now, using “Amsterdam” literally made the finest and most blinding highlight I’ve ever done/used. It blew me away. I literally had butterflies looking at my face when the light hit the highlighter. I felt like NikkieTutorials. If you have this palette, go and get it out and cover your face in “Amsterdam” because you won’t regret it!

After I had recovered from my highlighter fit, I use the Rimmel Insta Fix setting spray to lock in that face!

Finally, I used my Cutebalms Macaroon Tint Balm in Crushed Berry. I am living for this stuff, it came in my July Glossybox and I’m pretty certain I’ve used it everyday since I received it. It smells great and applies really nice and evenly to my lips to give them a flush of colour. It’s also nice and hydrating for my lips, which is super important because I try to keep them protected and hydrated throughout the summer months.

And that is the finished look!

Photo 16-07-2017, 11 58 30

 

Do you have a summer makeup routine? Have you used any of the mentioned products? Let me know in the comments!

 

Check out my Instagram!

10 thoughts on “Summer Makeup | Tutorial.

Leave a Reply

